The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics


    Justin Parr Tabbed Semifinalist for Gregg Olson Award
    Senior Justin Parr was named a semifinalist for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, given to college baseball's Breakout Player of the Year.

    Senior Justin Parr was named a semifinalist for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, given to college baseball's Breakout Player of the Year.

    May 22, 2013

    College Baseball Lineup Release

    OMAHA, Neb. - Senior Justin Parr was named a semifinalist for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, presented by Toolshed Sports, announced College Baseball Lineup Wednesday. The Illini center fielder is one of 46 players to make the list honoring college baseball's "Breakout Player of the Year." The Big Ten Player of the Year is one of two players from the conference on the list along with Ohio State closer Trace Dempsey.

    Parr - who also is a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, which is given to college baseball's top player - turned in the second-longest hitting streak in the nation in 2013 with a school-record mark of 33 games. The Chillicothe, Ill., native finished the regular season ranked No. 3 in the NCAA in average at .415 and 10th in hits with 85, which both led the Big Ten. He was named Big Ten Player of the Week after hitting for the cycle against Purdue and has not made an error in center field. He also led the Big Ten in RBI (51), on-base percentage (.472) and total bases (125) along with ranking second in slugging (.610) and triples (4).

    The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

    A list of finalists is scheduled to be announced on Monday, June 3, in conjunction with the conclusion of NCAA Regional play. The winner of the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Neb., during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 26.

    2013 Gregg Olson Award Semifinalists
    Gabe Aguilar, New Mexico
    Eli Anderson, Northern Illinois
    Scott Baker, Ball State
    Trevor Belicek, Texas A&M Corpus Christi
    Buddy Borden, UNLV
    Garrett Boulware, Clemson
    Devin Burke, Virginia Tech
    Chad Carroll, James Madison
    Mike Connolly, Maine
    Trace Dempsey, Ohio State
    Christian Diaz, Miami FL
    Kerry Doane, East Tennessee State
    Christiaan Durdaller, Samford
    Joey Falcone, Columbia
    Austin Fisher, Kansas State
    Mike Ford, Princeton
    Chase Fowler, Southern Miss
    Brent Graham, Campbell
    Tyler Grogg, Toledo
    Sean Hagen, Eastern Kentucky
    Max Homick, San Diego
    Ryan Huck, Western Kentucky
    Joe Jackson, The Citadel
    Ryan Keele, Nebraska-Omaha
    Ryan LaGrange, UNC Wilmington
    Bobby Lecount, New Mexico State
    Trey Masek, Texas Tech
    Jeff McKenzie, CSU Bakersfield
    Harrison Musgrave, West Virginia
    Mike Papi, Virginia
    Justin Parr, Illinois
    Austin Perez, Stetson
    Jake Peter, Creighton
    Brandon Peterson, Wichita State
    Chad Prain, Georgia State
    Austin Pruitt, Houston
    Michael Renner, North Florida
    Steven Shelinsky Jr., Pitt
    Matt Shortall, UT Arlington
    Scott Sitz, Florida Sate
    Taylor Sparks, UC Irvine
    Cody Stubbs, North Carolina
    Michael Suchy, Florida Gulf Coast
    Mike Tauchman, Bradley
    Ryan Thompson, Campbell
    Ben Verlander, Old Dominion

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us