The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics


    Justin Parr Named Semifinalist for Dick Howser Trophy
    Senior Justin Parr is one of 40 semifinalists up for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the nation's top collegiate baseball player.

    Senior Justin Parr is one of 40 semifinalists up for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the nation's top collegiate baseball player.

    May 16, 2013

    Complete NCBWA Release

    DALLAS - Senior Justin Parr was named a semifinalist for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations, announced the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Thursday. Parr is among 40 semifinalists up for the award, which is given to the top player in collegiate baseball, after two rounds of national voting.

    The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

    Parr is one of two Big Ten players on the list along with Indiana's Kyle Schwarber. The Chillicothe, Ill., native entered the week with the second-best average in the NCAA which is currently at .429. He also turned in the second-longest hitting streak in the NCAA in 2013 with a school-record mark of 33 games. The Illini center fielder leads the team with 26 multi-hit games and hit for the cycle earlier this season.

    He ranks in the top 10 in the nation in hits (85), which leads the conference, and holds the top spot in the Big Ten in on-base percentage (.484), total bases (125), RBI (51) and fielding percentage (1.000). He also sits in the top five in five other conference categories: slugging (2nd, .631), triples (2nd, 4), home runs (T-4th, 6), runs (5th, 41) and doubles (T-5th, 14).

    This is the 27th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 6. The 2013 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the third year. The winner will be unveiled on Saturday, June 15 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2013 CWS.

    2013 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists
    Pos. Name, School
    Mark Appel, SP, Stanford
    Aaron Attaway, SS, Western Carolina
    Nick Backlund, DH, Mercer
    Michael Bass, 2B, UNC Wilmington
    Tyler Beede, SP, Vanderbilt
    Aaron Berg, RP, UCLA
    Alex Bregman, SS, LSU
    Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego
    Danny Collins, OF, Troy
    L.B. Dantzler, 1B, South Carolina
    Brandon Dixon, 3B, Arizona
    Hunter Dozier, SS, Stephen F. Austin
    Kent Emmanuel, SP, North Carolina
    Zane Evans, C, Georgia Tech
    Brent Graham, SS, Campbell
    Jonathan Gray, SP, Oklahoma
    C.K. Irby, Utility, Samford
    Mason Katz, 1B, LSU
    Ryan Kellogg, SP, Arizona State
    Tony Kemp, 2B, Vanderbilt
    Michael Lorenzen, Utility, Cal State Fullerton
    L.J. Mazzilli, 2B, Connecticut
    Kyle McGowin, SP, Savannah State
    Brian Miller, RP, Vanderbilt
    Colin Moran, 3B, North Carolina
    Aaron Nola, SP, LSU
    Matt Oberste, DH, Oklahoma
    Daniel Palka, OF, Georgia Tech
    Justin Parr, OF, Illinois
    D.J. Peterson, 1B, New Mexico
    Hunter Renfro, OF, Mississippi State
    Tanner Rust, C, New Mexico State
    Jimmie Scherfy, RP, Oregon
    Kyle Schwarber, C, Indiana
    Cody Stubbs, 1B, North Carolina
    Stewart Turner, C, Ole Miss
    Trea Turner, SS, NC State
    Tyler Webb, RP, South Carolina
    Jimmy Yezzo, 1B, Delaware
    Ty Young, 3B, Louisville

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us