Land Of Lincoln Trophy

The Land of Lincoln Trophy, first awarded in 2009, goes annually to the winner of the Northwestern-Illinois football Game.

Designed by Dick Locher, the Land of Lincoln Trophy is modeled after Abraham Lincoln's authentic hat. The bronze trophy sits atop a wood base measuring 14 by 14 inches. The trophy, along with a walnut base, weighs 28.5 pounds.

The Land of Lincoln trophy idea was the result of an online vote by Northwestern and Illinois fans. "Land of Lincoln" edged three other finalists: President's Trophy (named after the state's four presidents), Popcorn Bowl (named after the Illinois state snack) and the Graham-Grange Fire Bell (named after two of the greatest players at each school). From 1945 to 2008 Northwestern and Illinois met for the Sweet Sioux Tomahawk, but it was retired in 2008 out of respect for Native American Nations.