The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Athletics News

    2006 Scholar-Athlete Banquet

    May 4, 2006

    The 16th Annual Fighting Illini Scholar-Athlete Banquet was held Tuesday, May 2, at the Assembly Hall.

    The finalists for the 2006 Dike Eddleman University of Illinois Female Athlete of the Year.

    Julie Crall, the 2006 Female Newcomer of the Year with Gymnastics Coach Bob Starkell.

    Rasa Virsilaite, the 2006 Fighting Illini Spirit Award winner with Volleyball Coach Don Hardin.

    The 2006 Dike Eddleman University of Illinois Athlete of the Year finalists.

    The 2006 Fighting Illini Newcomer of the Year, Kyle Hudson, with Football Coach Ron Zook and Baseball Coach Dan Hartleb.

    Dee Brown and Christen Karniski, the 2006 Illinois recipients of the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

    Director of Athletics Ron Guenther addressed a crowd of nearly 600 at the Scholar-Athlete Banquet.

    Dee Brown with Teddy Eddleman, the wife of the late Dike Eddleman, for whom the UI Athlete of the Year awards are named.

    Dawn Riley Duval, one of the comeback speakers at the Banquet, along with former teammate and current Illinois assistant track coach Tonja Buford Bailey.


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us