****
blog

Illini Open Fall Practice with Familiar Faces

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
BSB practice 1.jpg

Tuesday Interviews: Coach Hartleb | Kevin Johnson

The Fighting Illini opened 2012 fall practice Tuesday under sweltering conditions but with many familiar faces. Illinois welcomes back 17 letter winners, including seven starters in the field and all three pitchers who formed the weekend rotation over the last half of the 2012 Big Ten season.

In addition to the great familiarity between the coaching staff, which remained intact over the summer, and the returning players, the Illini have added 12 newcomers. This class of rookies includes a number of players who could contend for playing time in 2013 despite the incredible amount of returnees.

Much like football's spring practice, the Illini baseball coaches use the fall practice period as a time to evaluate the players and learn their strengths and weaknesses, as they start to form the basis of a pitching staff and starting lineup. 

2012 fall practice schedule:

Tues., Sept. 4 - 3:30-6

Wed., Sept. 5 - 3:30-6

Thurs., Sept. 6 - 3:30-6

Fri., Sept. 7 - 3:30-6

Mon., Sept. 10 - 3:30-6

Tues., Sept. 11 - 3:30-6

Wed., Sept. 12 - 3:30-6

Thurs., Sept. 13 - 3:30-6

Fri., Sept. 14 - 3:30-6

Sat., Sept. 15 - TBA

Mon., Sept. 17 - 3:30-6

Tues., Sept. 18 - 3:30-6

Wed., Sept. 19 - 3:30-6

Thurs., Sept. 20 - 3:30-6

Sat., Sept. 22 - 9 am-noon

Mon., Sept. 24 - 3:30-6

Tues., Sept. 25 - 3:30-6

Wed., Sept. 26 - 3:30-6

Thurs., Sept. 27 - Scout Day Time TBA

Fri., Sept. 28 - 3:30-6

Sat., Sept. 29 - TBA

Mon., Oct. 1 - 3:30-6 (Orange & Blue World Series)

Tues., Oct. 2 - 3:30-6 (Orange & Blue World Series)

Wed., Oct. 3 - 3:30-6 (Orange & Blue World Series)

Thurs., Oct. 4 - Orange & Blue World Series rain date

Fri., Oct. 5 - Orange & Blue World Series rain date

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/37568

Leave a comment